Background Color System

Post your suggestions here
KTM57

Background Color System

Post by KTM57 »

Whenever we get around to the point where number skins can be chosen, it would be nice to have a background color system as well. I've thought of two. Keep in mind, I have no experience with scripting or coding or writing anything other than HTML in some computer class last year where the teacher made up our grades.

1. Naming of PNGs

Pretty much, you would have crf450-model-skin_whitebg/crf450-model_whitebg or something of the like for each color, probably just white, black, yellow and red seeing as those are the main background colors used in racing. Each background color might refer to a different numbers.png, which would be named similarly like the bike texture and would probably just be white or black depending on the color. For example, crf450-model-skin_whitebg would refer to numbers_whitebg.png, which would probably be black. Seems simple enough.

2. (This one may be a bit far-fetched, but hear me out here. This is coming from a skinner's perspective and would be really nice)

This would involve another choice in the bike setup screen called numberplate background or something like that. There would be a .png in the same size and format of the bike texture to be overlayed onto the bike texture. A background overlay could be included for each bike skin or each model (crf450-model-skin_bg/crf450-model_bg) and be in many different colors, choosable under the bike setup menu and named similarly to the bike (crf450-2012 Team Limited Decal_whitebg) so that the user could easily find the corresponding background. This would make it so that less .pngs would need to be included in a bike pack. A menu where a color of numbers would be chosen between white and black would go along with this as well, or it may be specified which background color has which numbers in some type of file included with the saf.*