Starting riding, need tips!

I've heard conversation coming out of animal pens that is more intelligent than what is going on in here.
Duckstream

Starting riding, need tips!

Post by Duckstream »

Okey hey so i got some GOOOD news, i get a bike ATLAST!
A mx bike that is...

So now im getting a 250 4 blow, and since i have no experience in mx racing (I KNOW HOW TO RIDE a moto bike, but mx is not the same :roll: )
So i come here and ask you who have been hopefully in this business for a long time, Tips and helpfull information
whats the most needet thing in mx riding and what to remember, how to jump probery, how to take the ruts rigth and so on and so on...
This is irl, but i know from mxs that releasing gas (in air)or braking while turning (also braking in air) can cause serious trouble.

But im asking this seriously, i dont want to buy a bike-ride 2 days and hurt myself-lay on a bed for rest of the summer.

Thanks,
Duckstream.

(BTW Im planing to get 250cc Honda or yamaha, so no ktm,kawa,suzuki...)
DJ99X

Re: Starting riding, need tips!

Post by DJ99X »

I'm not sure if you have these over there, but try attending a riding school. The stuff they teach you is extremely valuable.

If not, just don't rush into things. Just ease your way into learning how to take ruts, and don't go hitting massive jumps straight up, just take small ones and get used to the feeling of not touching the ground.

With four-strokes, do not close the throttle off the face of a jump, as the compression will kick in, and you will nose dive. If this happens, panic rev, and this will help bring the wheel back up.
Rallemx

Post by Rallemx »

Always consistent throttle going off jumps..Ruts, well you wont need to worry about that now.
Also, NEVER use front brake in air. Rear brake is fine.
And, you know the quote "When in doubt, pin it" <-- Use that. Usually when something goes wrong, its because you hestitated. Dont do that :)
Keep us updated :wink:
The Fox
Team: ASV Inventions